The Problem with Humans

A few days ago I wrote a very drunk post (no alcohol, only feelings) about me being a cookie and certain people being like the hammer that breaks me into pieces. I am not surprised that I am writing a sequel for that post within the next couple of days.

I love dogs, don’t you? I love all animals, in fact. I love the stray kittens and cats on the hot roads outside, the puppies I’ve never met, and I love the birds which interrupt my sleep and the fishes that haven’t learned to speak yet, and I love crabs that would claw me if they got the chance and I love ants that are no good for my skin and I love hamsters and rats and rabbits and squirrels and every animal you can name except scorpions and snakes because those are just too creepy for me.

I love animals. A lot.

So when someone hurts an animal I feel violated. I feel disgusted and I feel angry.

The problem with human beings is that they think they are supreme. We are not supreme and we are not the owners of Earth. Those property papers that declare you as the owner are lies. You can’t own earth. You can’t own rivers. You can’t own trees and you can’t own animals because they are not for you to own. You can, however, make yourself the guardian.

Some time in July, something terrible happened. You know the way the Japanese (and every other person with a heart) remember the American disasters Hiroshima and Nagasaki? That is the way I will forever remember the events that took place in July 2014.

Jule 2014 – In Riyadh, Saudi Arabia, a bunch of bravado men gathered and tied up 9 dogs near a sewage and burned them alive. These dogs were, apparently, attacking the Saudi children outside their homes.

I have three things to say –

Who made you King of this universe?

What makes you think your children’s safety is worth the painful death of 9 dogs?

And are you sure you are Muslim?

I question the morality of these people the way I question America for the Hiroshima and Nagasaki bombings.

Before you cuff me, let me point this out to you –

It is related from Jabir that the Messenger of Allah, once saw a donkey which had been branded on its face and he said, “May Allah curse the one who branded it.” (Muslim)

It is related from Sahl ibn Al-Handhaliyya that the Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, once passed by a camel that was so emaciated that its back had almost reached its stomach. He said, “Fear Allah in these beasts who cannot speak.” (Abu Dawud)

“A good deed done to an animal is like a good deed done to a human being, while an act of cruelty to an animal is as bad as cruelty to a human being.”

Imagine this situation – a group of 9 teenage boys, burly and strong and ferocious, bully children and then the parents of those children burn those 9 teenage boys for the offense. According to the above narration of the Prophet Muhammad (Peace be upon him) , burning 9 dogs is exactly like burning 9 humans.

I do not understand how such people sleep at night and I do not understand how they could even gather up the strength to light that match.

I have my trust in Allah Subhana Wata’ala that they people will get what they deserve for inflicting what those dogs should never have gone through regardless of how dangerous they were because you are NOBODY to punish animals with fire or with a stick or with your own hands.

At this point I want to ask those who are reading – what should a person do when a street animal becomes a threat to the safety of people? Tie it up and burn it alive, hence giving it a slow and painful death, or call Animal Control or other pet shelters?

Leave a Reply

