Books and more books!

In January I went on a three week vacation with exciting plans of travel blogging. New kinds of food in new places, colourful arrays of clothes and ethnic artifacts and pictures of the road, the sky and the people – I had it all planned. But as the wise understand, planning does not always work. I ended up having no camera, internet which barely worked and a really terrible case of cold.

And before all of that was my terrible experience at airports, I’m not going to bother talking about all that now because I fear that I might turn into a cold and angry turnip. My advise: avoid Saudia Airlines if you can, or develop a high level of tolerance for delays and more delays and terrible airplane experience.

Despite a crazy vacation I had fun. I bought books. A LOT of books! In fact, exactly 31 books. And I’ve read 5 of them so far in the past two weeks.

Here’s what I’ve read recently:

  • Mr. Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore + Ajax Penumbra by Robin Sloan
  • 1984 by George Orwell
  • Damned by Chuck Palahnuik
  • Hard Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World by Haruki Murakami
  • Farenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
  • HWJN by Ibraheem Abbas and Yasser Bahjatt
  • Darkly Dreaming Dexter by Jeff Lindsay
  • Macbeth by William Shakespeare (almost done!)

It’s been so wonderful reading lately and I haven’t even started on the greaaaaat titles I’ve bought. (Many thanks to my amazing Professor Dr. Linda for recommending me books). The next book I’m gonna read will probably be The Artist of Disappearance by Anita Desai, and I think that’s three novellas in one.

I would highly recommend Robin Sloan’s book+novella and what I loved about it most was the geeky slant and all the information about typography. The best thing about the book was that it was mystery and modern adventure together, and it had a really interesting/funny protagonist who often surprised me by his charm and smarts. Farenheit 451 is another one of my new favorites – probably because it’s about books and reading and literature and thought. The same sort of goes for Sloan’s titles because those center around a 5 century old book club cult. I think I absolutely love books about books/libraries/reading/bookstores. Another book I’m looking forward to read is The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman

During my vacation in Delhi I visited several bookstores and most of them were amazing compared to what we have in Jeddah. BUT! A couple of days before my departure from Jeddah I took an adventurous trip to Jarir Bookstore and noticed that their collection was better than before. Especially the classics and mystery fiction. In fact, they had most books by Murakami and Kundera, and Julian Barnes – something I had never seen before.

Now about the food I ate in India: I absolutely fell in love (All over again) with Veg Momos! I love Chinese food. I love Indian Chinese even more. Other things I went crazy about were chowmein noodles, dhokla and maggi! If I could I’d eat some maggi noodles right now – BUT I’m on an amazing diet.

Anyway! That’s all I’m gonna write for now. Hopefully in a couple of weeks I’ll update the list of books I’ve read, but since the Spring semester is in full swing, I doubt I’ll be able to read more.

AWESOME NEWS: Nestle Toll House opened at my Uni! How cool is THAT?! (Like I said, I’m on a diet.)

Leave a Reply

