Talking about books and leaving you with a poem I wrote

Now is a great time to tell you about my week in reading and other bookish stuff.

Our book club is alive! Our first meeting in nearly TWO years was probably the highlight of my week. We talked about everything from Freud, new beginnings to magic realism and developing the reading habit. Of course all this happened with hot chocolate and coffee and some seriously delicious cookies from Nestlé Toll House (where we had our meeting).

The evening got even better when we did some book shopping! Of course it’s impossible for me to enter a  bookstore and not buy books, so here’s what I bought:

image

I’m thrilled by the prospect of reading these books in the weeks to come! I’m most excited about the Frida Kahlo fiction (which is not written by her but based on her diary), and The Shining by King! The Shining is one of my favourite scary movies and my bestest friend ever told me the book is better so….woot woot!

This week I read a couple of books!

1. Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote

image

I now understand why Holly Golightly (,Travelling) is so loved in literally. She’s such a vivacious character and seriously it’s easy to love her and then instantly feel annoyed by her but even that soon turns into loving her. The book is written from the perspective of a man who was (is) enthralled by her captivating personality.
Capote’s writing is so sublime and so fluid. I felt like I was drinking the words, not reading them. It’s one of those writings that you inhale before you even begin to comprehend it’s depth. I’m crazy about his writing.

I definitely recommend this book. The story is so well crafted and it left me wishing it was longer. I’m definitely reading it again at some point.

Favourite quote: “A girl doesn’t read this sort of thing without her lipstick.”, ” Never love a wild thing…If you let yourself love a wild thing. You’ll end up looking at the sky.”

5/5

2. Perfume the Story of a Murderer

image

I super duper love books which focus on the negative character because I’m seriously interested in the way writers make you care about the kind of people who are instantly considered ‘bad’ or ‘evil’. This book also had some seriously brilliant writing. And the last 50 pages are one of the best I’ve ever read in a book. In fact, the writer shifts everything in the last couple of pages so abruptly and flawlessly that you end the book with a big WOW.

I can’t think of a book that’s got such an awesome ‘aura’ as this one. And well…look at that brilliant cover!

Favourite quote:  ” Odors have a power of persuasion stronger than that of words, appearances, emotions, or will. The persuasive power of an odor cannot be fended off, it enters into us like breath into our lungs, it fills us up, imbues us totally. There is no remedy for it.”

5/5

In other news today I did the #bookishblues tag on Instagram!

image

I have around 15 days off due to the Hajj vacation! In this period I’m going to get lots of work done and hopefully write my own stuff too.

Here I leave you with a poem I wrote:

Green, yellow and pink of all kinds.

An owl is watching you.

There is soul and soil. All inside you.

You are feeling the hair through your fingers but you’re not feeling.

Your cart is empty. Add some lemon and watch it wither.
 
________

It’s up to you to decide what it means.

3 thoughts on “Talking about books and leaving you with a poem I wrote

Leave a Reply

