Updates! My October TBR and Reading Life of the Past Month

This is a much needed update! I’ve read lots this past month and I’ve been wanting to share a post about all that but life has been SO busy. Without further ado (before this post will be long) let’s get to it!

In my previous post I mentioned I was reading Patrick Suskind’s Perfume: The Story of a Murderer. What an exciting book! Loved it!

The other books I read after Perfume in September:

Red Leaves by Sita Brahmachari – 4.5/5

The White Tiger by Arvind Adiga – 4.5/5

The Secret Life of Frida Kahlo by F. G. Haghenbeck – 4/5

Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman – 4.5/5

These were all such exciting books! I would recommend all of them but especially Neverwhere because it was my bestfriend’s recommendation and I don’t usually talk about fantasy books! 😀 It’s sort of magic realism though.

Okay, so….my October To Be Reads were these 9 books:

IMG_20151001_143912

All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

The Girl In The Tangerine Scarf by Mohja Kahf – 5/5

The Shining by Stephen King – 4/5

An Unnecessary Woman by Rabih Alameddine – 5/5

After Dark by Haruki Murakami – 5/5

The Dharma Bums by Jack Kerouac

Franny and Zooey by J.D. Salinger – 5/5

Stardust by Neil Gaiman – 4.5/5

World War Z by Max Brooks

12093843_778301538947843_1855874696_n

I’m nearly halfway through All The Light We Cannot See right now and I’m really enjoying it. A fellow bookworm, Aldrin, commented that the writing is not as beautiful as The Book Thief and I must agree with that! Both are based around the same wars/time period.

11850134_422390937954455_1852365091_n

I am so happy with my reading this month. Although I couldn’t finish reading all the books I planned because I hadn’t realized in my excitement that I’d be writing midterm exams in October! Regardless, the reading was wonderful and educational. I am going to type out my reviews soon!

11372335_176381692699726_1176656835_n

12063169_509324805892762_267046137_n

10666278_841847192581035_2133042123_n

My reading these past few weeks has been pretty awesome. The best part is that my older brother has joined me in the love for books! So I have one other bookworm at home who reads all the time like I do. It’s pretty fabulous and I can’t thank God enough for blessing me with the kind of environment that makes me want to read more and more. I’ve been reading whenever I can, as per usual! I usually read before I sleep, between my classes when I’m free and nowadays in the car ride to the uni and back home. In my past three years of commuting to Uni I mostly never read in the car because I’d usually be with my Dad or brothers. We finally have a driver so I can read in the backseat guiltless.

Okay so, I don’t always get to blog because I’m not in the habit yet (it’s a habit I can never seem to acquire!). However, I blog on my Instagram on almost a daily basis – all about books! If you like the pictures in this post you might like my blog. Check it out: @sumaiyya.books

All pictures in this post belong to me. I need to watermark them >.<

Leave a Reply

