First Book Haul of 2016!

IMG_20160115_210704.jpg

My first bookish purchase of 2016 was The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt (one seriously smart woman) and Stoner by John Williams. If you’ve read these I’d love to know what you thought!

I bought Goldfinch because it’s been on my TBR (under ‘Any Book by Donna Tartt’) for as long as I’ve loved DT which is ever since I read The Secret History in 2012. I definitely recommend her work, especially TSH because of the complexity of the characters and the ingenuity of her plot. The Little Friend is supposed to be a good book but it bored me halfway through, perhaps because the murder mystery’s ending was spoiled for me.

Stoner is another book I’m really looking forward to! It’s about the love for literature as told through a man’s story. That’s really all I know about it so I obviously can’t give a very concrete idea to you. But it’s been highly praised by readers I trust and I’ve come across it on some of my many literature adventures.

Have you bought any books this year?! Share the titles!

Also, my current read is Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie – I’m reading it again to prepare for my senior thesis which will be a postcolonial literary criticism of the book. Don’t ask me more, I’m in the middle of figuring things out!

 

IMG_20160130_151518.jpg

2 thoughts on “First Book Haul of 2016!

Leave a Reply

