BLOG TOUR: Interview + Giveaway with Author Diana T. Scott

BT_1.jpg

I’m back after my prolonged hiatus with an author interview. Before we begin, I must tell you that Diana T. Scott was one of the first authors to send me her books to review on my Instagram blog @sumaiyya.books Diana’s books will always be memorable for that reason amongst others. I enjoyed reading Our Demons, Best Friends and I hope anyone else who picks the books up reads them with the same interest. For a self-published author Diana has done so well, just look at the cover designs for proof!

1. Tell me a little about yourself.
My name is Diana T. Scott, I’m an aspiring author and I won’t stop until I can erase that “aspiring” attached to my chosen career. I’m a big sister and a first child, I love dogs and if I didn’t need sleep I’d be spending my nights writing and reading. I still try to do these things, but with much more difficulty.
2. Did you start writing at an early age?
No, not at all. Until three years ago, I haven’t even considered writing as a possibility. I’ve always loved reading, yet never considered writing as a career. After a conversation with one of my best friends, where he told me about his lifelong dream to write a movie script, it suddenly hit me how much I’d like to write, as well. It was like that dream you’re too afraid to admit you have. We ended up being each other’s writing buddy and four months later, my first novel was being published.
3. Which books have inspired and influenced your writing?
Who I am and what I’ll end up being is all thanks to hundreds of books read over the years. I won’t be able to choose just one (or ten) because I’m sure there are dozens that changed me in one way or another, many of them in ways I’m probably not even aware of.
4. Most characters in Our Demons Best Friends ‎are medical residents. I’d love to know why!
I am not a doctor but I was close to becoming one. While still in high-school, I was really interested in genetics, but at the end of my final year, I decided to go in a totally different direction. I don’t regret my decision, but sometimes I wonder what it would’ve been like. Thanks to Ava and Sebastian, I finally have an answer to that question. And that’s one of the things I love most about writing – I don’t have to decide on only one career. I can have them all.
5. Which is your favorite book in the HALF of ME series?
Probably book no. 5, the one I haven’t even begun writing. I’ve been thinking about it since the day I decided to make ODBF into a series. I feel closest to the main character, but if you’re curious why you’ll have to wait just a bit longer.
6. How do you fight writer’s block?
First, I try reading. Then, I try writing something completely different from what I normally write, If that doesn’t work, I start looking for explanations: have I lost my mojo? Did a have a mojo, to begin with? Twenty minutes of self-doubt later, I’m back at writing like nothing ever happened. I’m not saying this is normal, it’s probably insane. But what can I say? Insane works for me.
7. What is the biggest challenge that you face while writing a story?
Myself, most likely. That part of me that keeps reminding me I haven’t done this for long and the part that insists that “we can do this”. They tend to fight a lot.
8. What’s the best and worst thing about being self-published?
The best thing about self-publishing is the constant support from all the lovely people I’ve come to meet. The worst is the exhaustion I feel after months of writing when I realize the hard part is just beginning. The work of a self-published author never truly stops – if it’s not writing, it’s marketing or cover design, or editing, or organizing tours and giveaways and a million other things. I love every part of it, but sometimes it truly is tiring.
9. What made you choose self-publishing over traditional methods?
I’m a novice, so to speak. I needed to pay my dues. I don’t regret the decision to postpone my submission to any publishing house because I wanted to learn all the ins and outs before even dreaming of becoming a published author. And I’ve been doing that for the past couple of years. It’s been good for me.
10. What’s your advice for aspiring writers?
Don’t be afraid! That’s the one thing I know for sure: fear paralyzes you. Don’t let it!

Quick Questions:

Tea or Coffee?

Pepsi.

Cats or Dogs?

Dogs.

Paperback or Hardcover?

Paperback.

Harry Potter or Shadowhunters?

Harry Potter.

Thank you SO much Diana for these wonderfully insightful answers. You’ve inspired me, and I’m sure many others, to write more!

The following are essential details about the author and her books:

11219025_345123829031145_882382535654704775_n

About Diana T. Scott: Writer of Our Demons, Best Friends, Love Me While I’m Gone and Color Me Yours. Perpetually sleep deprived, but never sorry. I am a colorful mix of the things I love. Chocolate eclairs. The sound of a guitar. The first snow of the year. Sleeping on freshly washed sheets. The smell of a new book. Man buns. Using rock-paper-scissors to settle an argument. Old, washed up jeans. Comfort food. Old people acting like kids. The ocean. My dog. My family.

SOCIAL MEDIA:

Goodreads

Twitter

Facebook

Instagram

BUY HER FIRST TWO BOOKS HERE:

Amazon

Book Depository

Barnes&Noble

Our Demons, Best Friends (Half of Me #1)

Ava and Sebastian are two medical residents who in a perfect world, would really like each other. But both of them are closely watched by their demons. Their baggage is not light – Ava has hers carefully folded in vacuum bags to occupy as little room as possible; Sebastian wears his like a lead armor that makes him slouch sometimes. They like each other, but how are their demons going to get along?

Love Me While I’m Gone (Half of Me #2)

For a very long time, my biggest accomplishments had nothing to do with what I really wanted. When I decided to give up my mother’s dream and fight for my own, I never imagined choosing one dream could put me on the path of the one I never knew I wanted – meeting him. Collin. He quickly went from a friend to a companion, to soul mate, to heartbreak.

After he left Chicago, leaving me with nothing more than a text message, I only had one sane choice – to act like he never existed and go on with my life. A ghost can’t break your heart.

But now he’s back and he’s prepared to prove me otherwise. Is it possible to love someone against your will?

UPCOMING RELEASE: Color Me Yours (Half of Me #3)

What happens if you wake up one morning and you don’t recognize the person staring back at you in the mirror? When you throw yourself into a relationship so deeply, it swallows you whole and spits you out a totally different person? A person you don’t particularly like… For Paige, it takes ten minutes to decide she needs to go back to Chicago, the first place she ever called home and the last she felt like herself in. The place where she’ll find a purpose and friends she never knew she needed.

But what if her best friend starts to see her before she sees herself? Can she trust him to search between scattered pieces and handpick the ones that belong only to her?

Now, time for the GIVEAWAY!

Enter in the following link 😀

https://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/35cfc0581/

Or check  #halfofmeblogtourGA

PRIZES

1ST PLACE: A personalized & signed copy of Our Demons, Best Friends + signed bookmark & poster + kindle copies of books 2&3

2ND PLACE: A personalized & signed copy of Our Demons, Best Friends + signed bookmark

3RD PLACE: A personalized & signed copy of Our Demons, Best Friends + signed bookmark

 

Leave a Reply

