A Quick Wrap Up of My June Reads

Hellooo bookish clan!

Since I *always* fail to do Wrap-up posts on Instagram (I’m never prepared with pictures), I decided to do it here on WordPress where it might be easier to track.

Without further ado, let’s start with a confession: My reading throughout June was quite scarce due to Ramadan priorities. But I did read three books which is three more than what my cat Gatsby read so I claim the right to celebrate my accomplishment. The best part is each of them were from different genres, so that allowed for a more varied reading experience. There was a little girlish romance, a bit of intense family drama and a heavy dose of psychological mess and trauma.
Here are the books in the order I read them:

  1.  WHEN DIMPLE MET RISHI by Sadhya Mennon

img_5348

A cute YA read that will help you read more diversely. Although the ending fell a little flat for me, aside from an entertaining case of boy meets girl, this story of Indian-American teenagers Dimple and Rishi does a good job at representing two issues: how the approach to marriage is affected by gender and the struggle against parental pressure concerning career pursuits. While that sounds like a grave combination (that I personally zeroed in on), the cute and flirty nature of WHEN DIMPLE MET RISHI makes it all digestible and indulgent. Full review is here.

Hachette sent me a copy in exchange for an honest review.

Buy on Book Depository.

  1. SALT HOUSES by Hala Alyan

IMG_5781

This is a revelatory novel that spans several generations of a displaced Palestinian family, and its poetic and beautiful. The narrative zooms in on several perspectives that often jump decades and portray a wide range of characters and their children. One idea that resonates throughout SALT HOUSES is the importance of family and how despite everything going wrong, in the end being with your family is what matters most. I loved the realistic portrayal of how displacement due to war results in people branching away from their culture, perhaps like the branching out of the family tree.

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt and Hachette sent me a copy in exchange for an honest review.

Buy on Book Depository.

  1. HE SAID / SHE SAID by Erin Kelly

 

IMG_5780

Any month of reading will be incomplete without a thriller. The first 100-pages or so were a bit of a drag for me and I found myself trudging along, hoping for the story to get intense. My patience was quickly rewarded when it ended as a shocking thriller suffused with twists and disturbing turns. This is a character driven thriller with dual perspectives that eventually make it impossible to put the book down. The disconcerting theme of eclipses in HE SAID / SHE SAID was a winning touch.

Hodder & Stoughton sent me a copy in exchange for an honest review.

Buy on Book Depository.

 

If you’ve read any of these books I’d love to know your thoughts. Tell me about the books you read in June and the ones you’re planning to read in July!

4 thoughts on “A Quick Wrap Up of My June Reads

  1. Yay for 3-book-June, that’s how many I read too! (I think? Wow, I can’t even remember. I’d have to check.) I’m fairly certain I did read three, though! None of mine were thrillers, but I may have to keep that one on my radar if you liked it that much. (Thrillers haven’t really caught me, I much prefer fantasy and sci-fi, but not going to turn it away by any means.) Great wrap up! 🙂

    1. That’s awesome! If you like sci-fi and want to try a thriller go for Dark Matter by Blake Crouch, it’s a cool mix of both 😍

  2. When Dimple Met Rishi keeps climbing up my tbr, but still not high enough for me to read in the next month, though! Once I’m done with my exams this month I’m hoping to read The Miniaturist and The Muse, both kindly sent to me by the author herself, Jessie Burton! Do you happen to have any other YA recommendations, (that are not full of cliches or love triangles)? I see you have interesting selections when it comes to YA! ^^

    1. That sounds great! Hope you enjoy Muse and Miniaturist, I liked Muse more than the debut ☺️ I love The Perks of Being a Wallflower, it’s amazing ❤️ I can’t think of any others at the moment 🙊

Leave a Reply

