Not The Greatest List of Romance Novels

I’ll be upfront about this: I’m not much of a romance reader. I enjoy it if it’s an aspect of the story but not central to the book. So here are some purely romance reads that I actually loved!

The Ramblers by Aidan Donnelley Rowley

This is one of my all-time favorite comfort reads. Pick it this if you’re looking for something cosy and comforting set in New York with central characters who are in their twenties.

From the blurb: Clio Marsh, whose bird-watching walks through Central Park are mentioned in New York Magazine, is taking her first tentative steps towards a relationship while also looking back to the secrets of her broken childhood. Her best friend, Smith Anderson, the seemingly-perfect daughter of one of New York’s wealthiest families, organizes the lives of others as her own has fallen apart. And Tate Pennington has returned to the city, heartbroken but determined to move ahead with his artistic dreams.

Where Rainbows End by Cecelia Ahern

Who does not love this heartbreaking book by one of Ireland’s most widely read author? I still remember when I first read this book and it left me sobbing. Maybe not purely romance but I’ve added it for sentimental value (sorry if it’s cheating!).

From the blurb: From naughty children to rebellious teenagers, Rosie and Alex have stuck by each other through thick and thin. But just as as they’re discovering the joys of teenage nights on the town and dating disasters, they’re separated. Alex’s family move from Dublin to America – and Alex goes with them. For good. Rosie’s lost without him. But on the eve of her departure to join Alex in Boston, Rosie gets news that will change her life forever – and keep her at home in Ireland.

Something From Tiffany’s by Melissa Hill

I read this years ago and it’s still one of those books I think about when I want to read something heartwarming. I wonder if there’s a film adaptation because it could totally work! This novel is about shopping bags from Tiffany’s that get exchanged during an accident – one has a charm bracelet and the other an engagement ring. It changes the love lives of everyone involved!

Sputnik Sweetheart by Haruki Murakami

While not exactly a feel good romance novel, this book hits all the right and quirky notes on the emotional afflictions surrounding a complicated love triangle. K is in love with his best friend Sumire who is in love with Miu, an older woman.

The Dreamer Series by E J Mellow

A must read if you’re looking for new adult romance combined with fantasy. After getting struck by lightning, Molly develops the strange ability to travel to another realm in her sleep. There she meets Dev, a handsome and complicated man with gorgeous blue eyes. What I love most about this series is how beautifully the author writes and manages to actually transport the reader to wherever Molly goes. The romance is sizzling, so beware if you have a tender heart. Plus, EJ’s Instagram is gorgeous and she’s the only author in this list whose posts I look forward to!

Night Owls by Jenn Bennett

I loved this cute love story about artsy teenagers who fall in love on a night bus. What worked for me is that this was a romantic read but also held a lot of depth that usually gets overlooked in YA romance (or maybe I haven’t read many good ones).

From the blurb: Meeting Jack on the Owl—San Francisco’s night bus—turns Beatrix’s world upside down. Jack is charming, wildly attractive…and possibly one of San Francisco’s most notorious graffiti artists. But Jack is hiding a piece of himself. On midnight rides and city rooftops, Beatrix begins to see who this enigmatic boy really is.

After writing this blog post I’ve come to the horrible realization that I actually haven’t read proper romance novels. I’ve feature the photo of novels I’m planning to read. Please recommend some in the comments below!

3 thoughts on “Not The Greatest List of Romance Novels

  1. I’ve only read Where Rainbow Ends from this list and it is by far my most favourite.
    You should give Colleen Hoover’s books a try and read All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. One of my favourite from my 2018 reads.

  2. I loved Sputnik Sweetheart. But then again Haruki Murakami is one of my fave authors… ever, lol. I’m not much of a romance reader either, but I enjoyed this list immensely!

  3. I’m not a romance reader either. Occasionally I will try and ask a friend to lend me a book that has romance as a central plot to the story. But I have yet to come across a compelling read. Would ‘The seven husbands of Evelyn Hugo’ classify as romance? If so, then that is a great book!

Leave a comment